Cagayan Valley and Northern Philippine Islands

DOT supports pioneering Cagayan Valley Climate Change Consortium

The Department of Tourism – Cagayan Valley and the Northern Philippine Islands has signed the Memorandum of Agreement establishing the Cagayan Valley Climate Change Consortium (CVCCC) on May 3, 2018 at Cagayan State University, Andrews Campus. DOT Regional Director Virgilio Maguigad was present as one of the signatories of the consortium during the ceremonial MOA signing that was led by Cagayan State University President Urdujah Tejada and witnessed by Climate Change Commissioner Noel Antonio Gaerlan, and Dr. Mahar Lagmay of the University of the Philippines Resilience Institute.

The CVCCC is the first regional-based Climate Change Consortium in the country. It acts as a coordinative, advisory, policy and management body for Climate Change Adaptation and Disaster Risk Reduction and Management programs and related activities in the region. It was established with the support of twenty-one National Government Agencies, Local Government Units and the academe in the region.

In support of the consortium, the DOT Region 2 will promote the roll-out of zero-carbon resorts. It will also spearhead the identification, development and implementation of research and development programs and projects for the climate proofing of the ecotourism industries in the region. The implementation of the ANAHAW – Philippine Sustainable Tourism Certification which focuses on enabling innovation initiatives that help reduce carbon footprints through smart methods, processes, and technologies is part of the DOT initiatives to support the program.


Post a Comment

4 × five =